HOME -- Champion News16 Oct 2018

  • Search News
  • Editions 
  • Categories 
  • Search News
  • Keyword
  • Editions
  • Sub Category
  • Month
  • County’s young voters choose members to represent them at Youth Parliament

    Henry James

    YOUNG people in Lancashire have elected their representatives to the Youth Parliament with Millie Edwards chosen to represent the Chorley, South Ribble and West Lancashire consitutency.

    A total of 3,379 votes were cast across the county to select five representatives at the Youth Parliament.

    Another Member of Youth Parliament was chosen by the Children in Care Council and the SEND (Special Educational Needs and Disabilities) forum.

    The full list of elected candidates is Millie Edwards (Chorley, South Ribble & West Lancs); Megan Ginley (Preston); Lily Cooper ( Lancaster, Fylde & Wyre); Kelsey Hewitt (Burnley & Pendle); Ambar Siddique (Hyndburn, Ribble Valley & Rossendale); Evie Smith (Children in Care Council & SEND forum).

    They will each represent their areas for two years.

    Lancashire County Council’s head of the Children and Family Wellbeing Service, Debbie Duffell, said: “I’m delighted that so many young people took part in this and thank them for getting so involved.

    “I’m so impressed with the commitment that the young people have showed, both to the democratic process and to supporting their local communities. This is another demonstration of the positive contribution young people make.”

    As part of their duties the MYPs will organise events and projects, run campaigns and aim to influence decision-makers on the issues which matter most to young people.

    Young people who want to find out who their member is on the district youth council can do so online at www.lancashire.gov.uk/youthzone/things-to-do/groups/uk-youth-parliament

    More information is also available by calling Brian Wood on 07795 222745 or emailing brian.wood@lancashire.gov.uk.

Back to Home